“This Too Shall Pass”

I love this simple quote. It says so much in just four little words.

_This Too Shall Pass_

My daddy used to tell me this when I was really upset about something.

Many people think this phrase came from The Bible, but it was actually a proverb from the medieval Levent around 1200AD. The phrase is in reference to a great King who gathered a group of wise men to make him a piece of jewelry – specifically a ring- that would cheer him up when he was feeling sad. After a lot of research and talk, the group crafted a ring with the inscription “This Too Shall Pass.” Thinking the ring would be a reminder of better things ahead, it actually became a curse whenever the King was happy.

Even though the phrase isn’t Biblical, it does deliver the powerful message that change is constant. It is the one thing you can count on with certainty.

It’s hard to remember this if you are traveling through life experiencing one bump in the road after another. It’s also something I have to remind myself of.

I’ve reached a point in my life where I feel stagnant. I’m assuming it’s my mid-life crises. It’s made me reflect on a lot of things, and it’s made me take inventory of who I am and how I approach life in general.

I thought I’d share a few thoughts.

Trust Your Gut

9497637019_00985e1310_n

If you pay close attention, you will find this little voice inside you that tells you when something is right or wrong. I’m not talking about the voice that contemplates that extra slice of cake or whether you should go to the gym. The one I’m referring to is the one you get when you meet someone for the first time and something feels “off”. You don’t know why, but the warning signs are there.

Trust those feelings. Always.

If you are afraid someone is lying to you, chances are you are right.

If you are worried you will get in trouble if you do something, you probably will.

AND, if you are worried your child’s new friend has psycopathic parents, you are probably right. Keep your kid away from them. Just do it.

Never go against that gut. Don’t. Even if you are wrong, you won’t regret it.

Everyone Will Hurt you

98174687_9a5daf5c11_b.jpg

There is not a single person you know that won’t let you down or hurt you at some point in time. People are human. People aren’t perfect.

Be prepared for this and learn forgiveness.

Yes, I said everyone. Your mom. Your dad. Your spouse. Your boyfriend, girlfriend, grandmother, brother, sister, teacher….you get the point.

Not only will they let you down, you will let them down.

The big key is to learn from it, forgive and move on. Don’t let the hate and anger consume you.

If the person constantly hurts you, maybe it’s time to let go. If they truly matter to you, you have to forgive and move forward.

Don’t Be Afraid

16637567650_31f7e2a95f_b

Yes, you will get hurt, but don’t be afraid to love again, dance again and to dream. Get back up and try again. It’s part of life.

Live.

Take Risks

Spend less time worrying about what you should be doing and focus more on what you want to do. Again, I’m not talking anything weird, but if you want to travel to Europe, do it while you are young. If you have a cool new business idea, go for it.

Don’t wait until you are older and have a whole list of “what ifs”.

Listen More Talk Less

17066818328_476ec4685b_b

My children will tell you I’m not a good listener. I’m not and I’m not proud of that fact. It’s true though. I’ve missed a lot of important conversations while tucked away in my own mind. Learn to listen when someone talks to you. You might learn something.

Respect Other’s Opinions

Everyone is passionate about something. Their passion or belief may be something totally opposite from what you believe in, but it doesn’t make them wrong and you right. (Even when you are convinced you are.) The smartest thing you can do is respect others and their opinions and learn to get along.

Avoid Two Topics in Public

Never discuss politics and religion. EVER.

Whatever Will Be Will Be

6026542856_67c9fd0db5_b

Sometimes in your life things won’t work out the way you want them to. Be thankful. This is God’s way of telling you that there is something better up ahead. He WILL close doors to prevent you from doing something majorly stupid. There will be times when you want to cry. There will be times you don’t understand. It’s OK. That is the way life goes sometimes. You aren’t supposed to know why. It just IS.

Change is Inevitable

This brings us full circle to the topic of this post. What matters to you now, will mean nothing in a year from now. In five years from now, you probably won’t even remember why you were struggling.

“This Too Shall Pass”

Life is hard. Learn to love each other and be nice. Embrace your family. They are the ones who will have your back at the end of the day. When you are young, you may feel like you hate each other, but trust me when I say, these weirdos are your people. Love them.

One last thing.

Always….always, remember to call your mother and tell her you love her.

 

 

Leave a Reply

